Month: January 2007

  • Snowflakes

    On the theme of winter weddings, I found these adorable things that are perfect for winter weddings:


    myweddingfavors.com


     momentsofelegance.com


    americanbridal.com


    traftons chocolates

    I wrote this on my personal blog but snowflakes are one of my favourite things! (Like the song from "Sound of music": "Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes...") If you want to visit the online stores just click on the pictures and it'll take you directly to the site! Enjoy~

     

  • snow!

    Now that it's snowing like crazy in NYC, I wish that my wedding was during the snow than the heat of July. It's just so pretty but then again I know I'd be freezing. Those of you having a winter wedding, take lots of pictures outside I'd love to see them.

    How many of you are getting married this month? Is it snowing where you are too?

  • Stamps and Place holders

    Remember Mrs. Bee talking about those adorable Hersey Kiss stamps? Well little old me went over to the post office today and bought their remaining 6 sheets. I put them on the rsvp envelopes and they are so cute! My invitations need a stamp that is 63 cents. I don't know of any cute stamps that are that amount.. should I just put two Hersey Kiss stamps instead? Although that is a waste of money but they are SO CUTE!

    I've been researching some place holders and I found such a cute one.


    from: myweddingfavors.com

    I think it's a really cute alternative especially those brides in Feb. Even though ours is in July, I'm really tempted to buy these. Would it be weird if I did? Ah, who cares right? Just as long as I like it

    I would love to hear where you ladies are getting your place cards... Please let me know, I'm still searching.

  • A Chinese necklace

    As many of you know I'm Korean with a dash of Japanese in me. Mr Poppy is Chinese-Hong Kongese? My inlaws are here from HK and when they came they brought many gifts for their "daughter"... *ahem* that would be me.

    All the gifts were wonderful and I loved them all. But my favourite was the jade necklace that Mr Poppy's mother gave me. This is not just any jade necklace, this jade was passed down by her mother and her mother's mother. I was so unbelievably honoured and I felt so special! She even had the yellow gold chain and the part that holds the jade replaced with white gold. Then she had the jade special made with diamonds on it. She made it that way because she wanted it so that "a young girl could easily wear it now a days".

    I put it on and the whole family was smiling ear to ear. I felt truly loved, I felt like a daughter... I am their daughter. And when we have children - I too will pass down this jade to my little girl. The thought of this jade being passed down generation to generation makes me very proud. Especially since I am told that as you wear the jade more, the darker it gets. (It's already beautiful but imagine it 5 girls down the road!)

    Do you have something from your inlaws that have been passed down from older generations also? And if so, will you keep passing it down?

    Even though they tell me I don't have to wear it everyday.... I do. Not because I have to but because I love them.

  • Hotels

    The good news is that the invitations are all ready to go and the only thing left before sending them is to include hotel information and a map of where it is along with the ceremony/reception location. I called up quite a few hotels inquiring about blocking sleeping rooms and most of them make you sign a contract making us responsible for filling 80% of the rooms or we pay for the unaccounted rooms. This freaks me out a little bit since I'm not even sure all of our out of town guests will stay in the hotel that we pick. What is the general rule as far as how many rooms you should block off?

    I tried picking a location where it's easily accessible for public transportation and I've been trying to keep it near the theater district or hearld square. The theater district for most of my guests since they are musicians and hearld square since Koreatown is there, along with the world's largest Macy's. I haven't had any luck as far as figuring out how to go about finding hotels but all I can really do is call right?

    I'd love to hear about how you ladies are going about finding a hotel for your guests. Will you have transportation to and from the wedding for your guests? We're thinking about renting a shuttle bus so that it's easy for our non-New York City guests and ensure they will be on time for our wedding.

    The best part about the hotel planning is that I'm bonding with my father in law who is staying with us (along with my mother in law) for about a month. He's so excited to help and has great insight to these aspects of the wedding that I have no idea about!

    This is totally off topic but who is excited about the weddingbee gathering in Feb?

    I AM!

  • The Five Love Languages

    Mr. Poppy and I are doing a premarital counseling thing with our wonderful officiant/pastor since we've been engaged. The first thing that was recommended was a book entitled: "The Five Love Languages: How to express heartfelt commitment to your mate" by Gary Chapman. I am not one that likes reading books that are sort of along the self help line but I have to say that this book changed my whole outlook on relationships.

    The book talks about how there are five primary love languages and that each of us has our own "language". It goes on to explain in depth about the five languages: words of affirmation, quality time, receiving gifts, acts of service and physical touch. The interesting thing is that Chapman goes on to explain that sometimes we try to show our love in our primary love language and we wonder why our spouse doesn't appreciate or feel loved. Unless your significant other speaks the same primary language, he's not going to know.

    I love how this book says that love is not a magical thing, it is a choice. You choose to love someone, you also choose to show that love. After reading this book I realise that my fiance and I do speak in each other's love language and we feel more than loved already. But this book actually really brought perspective in my other relationships with people and made me realise that some friends I wasn't speaking their primary love language. While I was reading I was thinking in my head: "Oh Sarah's love language isn't 'receiving gifts' but it's 'words of affirmation'!" or "Oh, all this time I was spending 'quality time' with my mother when she really feels loved by 'acts of service'".

    Now I know that I'm being very vague with what exactly these five languages are... But I promise that it will really make you think about how to make your husband and others feel truly loved. Although this book is geared towards Christians, I find that it's very minimal with the Christian talk and more in depth about how to approach relationships.

    If any of you have read it, please do share! I'd love to hear about it. Those that haven't read it, please give it a try. I know that it inspired me - and I don't usually get this way about books.

  • Invitations

    EDIT:
    oops i mistook the rsvp price! it was only $12.95 for 32 cards and envelopes so that comes out to 31 cents a card! WOOT!


    I've been gone a while, yes I know. I apologise but I've been quite the little busy bee... flower. I do have updates though!

    My invitations are in and it was fun putting them together with my Mother in Law and my sister. The kit came with the back card, ribbon, the actual invitation and envelopes. They provided glue dots to attach everything and although none of them are perfectly centered, know that we made them with love and lots of laughter! Oh I almost forgot - Mr. Poppy made some too!

    I can't figure out for the life of me how to take pictures clearly but the only good that came out of this is that I don't think I have to blur out anything. What do you guys think? In person they are much prettier, but like I said - I am no photographer.

    I also made RSVP cards:

     
    top - envelope, bottom closed card; opened card

    I bought these fold cards from Barnes and Noble for super cheap. I think under 50 cents per card. They are glittery and beautiful hand made paper. Since they came blank I just insereted them to my inkjet printer and made the RSVPs that way! Everything about our wedding have been very hands on and I like that almost everything was something special from our families to our guests.

    So... what do you ladies think? You like? I like it a lot but I love the time I got to bond with my Mother in Law and sister most of all.

    I promise more updates to come. I miss you ladies!