January 9, 2007

  • A Chinese necklace

    As many of you know I'm Korean with a dash of Japanese in me. Mr Poppy is Chinese-Hong Kongese? My inlaws are here from HK and when they came they brought many gifts for their "daughter"... *ahem* that would be me.

    All the gifts were wonderful and I loved them all. But my favourite was the jade necklace that Mr Poppy's mother gave me. This is not just any jade necklace, this jade was passed down by her mother and her mother's mother. I was so unbelievably honoured and I felt so special! She even had the yellow gold chain and the part that holds the jade replaced with white gold. Then she had the jade special made with diamonds on it. She made it that way because she wanted it so that "a young girl could easily wear it now a days".

    I put it on and the whole family was smiling ear to ear. I felt truly loved, I felt like a daughter... I am their daughter. And when we have children - I too will pass down this jade to my little girl. The thought of this jade being passed down generation to generation makes me very proud. Especially since I am told that as you wear the jade more, the darker it gets. (It's already beautiful but imagine it 5 girls down the road!)

    Do you have something from your inlaws that have been passed down from older generations also? And if so, will you keep passing it down?

    Even though they tell me I don't have to wear it everyday.... I do. Not because I have to but because I love them.

Comments (5)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment