Month: September 2006

  • Addictions

    I have three addictions.

    1. The piano
    2. Hello Kitty
    3. LIP GLOSS

    I have a sperate little makeup bag just for my lipglosses. My absolute favourite is Lancome Juicy Tube in Hallucination. The colour looks nothing like the website, it's ultra sheer, glittery and slightly pink. I wore it last year when I was in a friend's wedding and when the other bridesmaids saw it, they put it on too! Now it's part of my everyday lip colour. I was even thinking about wearing it for my wedding since my dress is a champagne colour.

    Another one of my favourites is Laura Merceir's lipgloss in those tubes. I can't seem to find it on her website but it goes on so smooth and last such a long time. One of my bridesmaids gave me a lipgloss set from Bare Escentuals. It came with a lipliner and a cute little gloss to match. I love it... Oy, I love it all glosses.

    As much as I love the expensive lipglosses, I can't afford too many of them. I rave the drug stores especially when it's buy one get one free! I have a collection of 5 lip glosses from Loreal ColourJuice. I know that a lot of my friends hate buying drugstore makeup but I can't complain about CoulourJuice. The ones I own are: 240 Cherry on Top, 310 Raspberry Smash and my favourite 510 Strawberry Smoothie. Maybelline makes nice ones too I have Shiny-licious in 60 Strawberry tart and 90 Melon-ball. See a theme? Yes I love fruity lipgloss. YUM.

    My makeup artist friend told me that these are a fantastic deal since they have all the great ingredients that high end lipglosses have for a fraction of the price. Since I do put on lipgloss on all the time it's great on my wallet.

    At night before I sleep I put on Prada's Lipbalm. It always keeps my lips from chapping and drying out and especially since it's getting colder and the air is dryer. Sadly Prada doesn't sell anymore of their cosmetic line but we have enough to last us a long while.

    What are your favourite lip products ladies? What do you plan to use for your wedding?

  • Have you heard of Weddingbee?

    Girlfriend: Hey!! I think I found a really cute, informative site for your wedding!
    Miss Poppy: OH! YAY! The more the better
    GF: It has a bunch of brides writing on one site, they give you tips and talk about everything anything weddings.
    MP: DO TELL DO TELLLLLL. I'm still sick so I could use more sites to look at while I'm getting better!!!!!
    GF: Have you heard of Weddingbee.com? You should really check it out!!!
    MP: I'm Miss Poppy on the site... haha
    GF: OMG, I LOVE HER!!! I mean... YOU!!!!! Before and after I found out.
    MP: Awwwww thankie spankie!

    Weddingbee is popular all over the globe!

  • Nicole Richie's ring

    I know she's not engaged or even dating DJ AM anymore. But I just wanted to know how many of you loved her ring? I have to say that Nicole's style is something I love so much. I'm going to ask my makeup artist to do my makeup like hers.

    Ok that's it. I'm still sick but I'm better! Thanks for your well wishes!


    Please comment on weddingbee.

  • Ceremony Music and the flu

    Aiyaya. I have the flu and I've felt pretty awful for the past three days and I can't say today is much better. So those of you who had left me comments or sent me emails I apologise from the bottom of my heart.

    Now I know that I've been getting a lot of requests for a entry on ceremony music. Miss Ladybug did a wonderful job with tips. I completely agree that couples should check out local colleges/universities for quartets or trios. I also suggest finding local "youth symphony orchestras" or a similar program that most major cities have. The youth symphony orchestras required a audition process with not only your own prepared piece but also orchestra excerpts and sight reading on the spot. Chances are the kids in the YSO are very talented. Do a search online with your major city and youth symphony/orchestra. How do I know so much about the YSO? I was a YSO kid from middle school to high school. I was part of the same quartet ever since I entered the YSO.

    As for local high schools. I would look up in the yellow pages of your city and call several high schools. Specifically ask for the orchestra director. Several questions you could ask is:

    - Do you have any musicians that are already in a quartet or trio?
    - Are they in a youth symphony or have attended any music festivals? (if they say Aspen they are good!)
    - How much would the quartet/trio charge?
    - Could we arrange a time and place so I can hear them play?

    I have many orchestra director friends both in charge of the youth symphony and high school orchestra programs. This is how most people ask them about ceremony music. Chances are high schoolers are your best bet as far as cost but undergrads that major in music performances will sound much more professional.

    I personally like both quartets and trios equally. I know that quartets may sound more "full" but I really love the sound of two violins and cello. You could even try a piano trio (violin, cello and piano).

    I'm not saying these are the only ways of finding musicians for your ceremony but these are the tips that I have for you ladies. I'm lucky since I'm a musician myself and 99% of my friends are musicians so I got that covered for my wedding.... Not to mention my sister and mom are musicians haha.

    Best of luck to you ladies. Now I will crawl back to bed and try to get better.

  • Miss Poppy checking in...

    Hello readers. I've had a pretty hectic week with school and being semi sick. I have the flu I think but with some meds I'm all good.

    There are many things that we have finished and it feels super good, especially since the wedding is summer. So I thought I would list things that I have finished and a list I must do.

    Finished:
    - Dress: it's hanging up in our living room right now
    - Flowers: we decided to have the bridesmaids hold regular white calla lilies and the flower girl and I will have mini pink calla lily bouquet
    - Invitations: we know where we're ordering them and all we have to do is light assembly
    - Centerpieces: Floating flowers in a round bowl, gold confetti (simple but elegant)
    - Officiant: our great friend at church, his daughter is our flower girl also
    - BM dress: matching latte/champagne sash, pick up skirt
    - Ceremony/Reception place: booked and booked. All we need to do is pay haha
    - DJ: booked, just need to pay
    - Bridesmaids gift: the majority is done! wheeeeeeeeeeeee

    To do:
    - Find a tux place
    - Find a place to alter my dress. (for once it's too big in the boobs. )
    - Parents gifts
    - Groomsmen gifts
    - Order Invitations
    - Plan groomsmen/bridesmaid get together (but that'll be towards the wedding)

    I imagine there is a lot more for the "to do" list but I have a bulk of things I need done. (or figured out) I'm really excited and debating if "diet" should be on the "to do" list. But I like food way too much.

    I miss you ladies and just wanted to check in with yous! Hope that your planning is going well and sorry I've been semi MIA.... being sick is no fun. blehhhhhh.

  • Extra Korean Magnets

    I know some brides out there are looking for these and a lovely reader has extras! Please leave a comment for her if you're interested!



    I recently had a wedding during the last
    week of August in California - and have some extra guest favors I'm
    looking to sell.  They are magnets of a bride & groom wearing
    the traditional Korean 'hanboks'.  One set is wearing the regular 'hanboks'
    and the other set is wearing 'hanboks' that were worn by royalty.  The
    magnets are made of rubber, so they are quite sturdy.  I put them in these
    super cute traditional Korean bags.  Everything is handmade.  They
    were a HUGE hit at the wedding - NO ONE left their favors or 'forgot'
    them...everything was gone (they even took the favors of those guests that
    didn't show up!)

    I have 71 of the purple bags (which includes
    the 'royalty's magnets, and 76 of the pink bags (what includes the regular
    hanbok magnets.  I'm looking to sell all for $450 shipped.
    Everything all tied up and ready to go...so
    there's no work to do....and one less thing you have to worry
    about...=)
     
    Feel free to change anything...make it
    shorter/longer...anything you want! =)
    Thanks so much!!!!
    Steph =)

    Please comment on weddingbee

     

         

  • The Dress!

    *Drumroll please*

    My dress was shipped to me via UPS today at 6:30pm.

    I tried it on and I love itttttt. I love it so much!! I got to refrain myself from trying it on everyday. :) I just need it taken in a bit and it's good to go. But I'll have my altering after the new year.

    I'm all giggly. wheeeeeeee!

  • Are you one of my bridesmaids?

    Then don't read beyond this point!

    They came in, it's beautiful beyond description... I love Angela Liu!

    I got 6 beautiful wristlets from her and they are unbelievable. The fabric is sturdy and thick and perfect for putting things in. The colours are vibrant and I was so happy with every single one of them. I wish that I would have gotten one for myself!!

    Since all six of my maids are very different in personality and style. I tried to get one that would be perfect for each of them. But I think that whichever one that they would get they would love anyway cuz they are so cute. *swoons*

    Go over to her etsy site and tell her how pretty these are and say that Miss Poppy sent you!
    Weddingbee readers get free shipping on 2 or more items!

  • sublet in nyc

    hi everyone, we're subletting our apartment~ please pass the info along

    1-Br apt for sublet/rent:

    Woodside, NY 11377

    5 minute walk from R,G,V,7 (local and express) trains, LIRR
    (15 - 20 mins into the city)
    2 blocks from Q53 bus to Queens Centre Mall and Q32 bus to Midtown Manhattan.

    apt located on first floor easy to move in

    approximately 700 sq feet with a large Br, tons of closet space, plenty of space for singles or couples

    nearby supermarkets, korean grocery stores, banks, pubs, restaurants
    and diners. one block away from laundromat, dry cleaners and post
    office.

    Sublet begins November 1st and ends on Jan 31st 2007. One 2-seater
    and one 3-seater sofa is available for sale to tenant if desired, and
    should tenant prefer, landlord's willing to start new lease after Jan
    31.

    if you guys are interested leave a comment or email wilbslau@gmail

    ---
    mrs bee please don't post this on weddingbee :) but please spread the word around

  • Gifts

    My bridesmaids gifts are all finished. But I'm debating when to give it to them. One of the gifts I bought I actually want them to wear on the wedding day... but I don't exactly want to tell them what it is quite yet!!! So, my question is... is it bad to give the gift super early? (will they forget?) or should I just wait till the rehearsal dinner when they are all here?

    Groomsmen gifts on the other hand are still in the findings. All six of our groomsmen are so different that we can't get them the same things like the maids.

    And then the parents~ *sigh* What to get them... I don't know honestly. I think that if my mom decides to buy a hanbok (korean dress) then maybe I'll buy it as her gift. My dad on the other hand, what to get the guy that already has everything? :) And for Mr. Poppy's parents, what to get them... I'm just glad I have a lot of time!

    What are you ladies planning/already got/get your: parents, maids and groomsmen? Are you getting a present for your husband?