September 17, 2006

  • Ceremony Music and the flu

    Aiyaya. I have the flu and I've felt pretty awful for the past three days and I can't say today is much better. So those of you who had left me comments or sent me emails I apologise from the bottom of my heart.

    Now I know that I've been getting a lot of requests for a entry on ceremony music. Miss Ladybug did a wonderful job with tips. I completely agree that couples should check out local colleges/universities for quartets or trios. I also suggest finding local "youth symphony orchestras" or a similar program that most major cities have. The youth symphony orchestras required a audition process with not only your own prepared piece but also orchestra excerpts and sight reading on the spot. Chances are the kids in the YSO are very talented. Do a search online with your major city and youth symphony/orchestra. How do I know so much about the YSO? I was a YSO kid from middle school to high school. I was part of the same quartet ever since I entered the YSO.

    As for local high schools. I would look up in the yellow pages of your city and call several high schools. Specifically ask for the orchestra director. Several questions you could ask is:

    - Do you have any musicians that are already in a quartet or trio?
    - Are they in a youth symphony or have attended any music festivals? (if they say Aspen they are good!)
    - How much would the quartet/trio charge?
    - Could we arrange a time and place so I can hear them play?

    I have many orchestra director friends both in charge of the youth symphony and high school orchestra programs. This is how most people ask them about ceremony music. Chances are high schoolers are your best bet as far as cost but undergrads that major in music performances will sound much more professional.

    I personally like both quartets and trios equally. I know that quartets may sound more "full" but I really love the sound of two violins and cello. You could even try a piano trio (violin, cello and piano).

    I'm not saying these are the only ways of finding musicians for your ceremony but these are the tips that I have for you ladies. I'm lucky since I'm a musician myself and 99% of my friends are musicians so I got that covered for my wedding.... Not to mention my sister and mom are musicians haha.

    Best of luck to you ladies. Now I will crawl back to bed and try to get better.

Comments (3)

  • I've been waiting for you to post about music!  hahahaha!

    I really wanted to have something a little extra to my musical selection.  We originally wanted the handbell choir, but our facility just doesn't have the space for them.

    I wanted to ask you for your opinion:  my future MIL knows both a pianist and a string trio.  How can I incorporate both?  When would it be most appropriate for who to play?

  • Oh...I should have read your post before replying to your email! So much info!
    Do you think you can refer me to any of your friends??
    I wish i had "musical friends"! =)

    Feel better! Drink alot of fluids and get alot of rest!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment