August 13, 2007

  • Dying the crinoline

    This little package of RIT dye is all I needed to dye my lovely snow white crinoline blue! The instructions are there on the package and I literally followed it step by step for the washing machine.
    Fill machine with enough hot water for crinoline to move freely. Pre-dissolve powder
    in 2 cups of hot water. Add pre-dissolved powder or liquid to hot dye
    bath.
    Wet fabric in hot water (I used my bathtub). Uncrumple and add to dye bath.
    Set machine for extended wash cycle. Fabric should be in dye bath for
    at least 30 minutes before rinse begins. (You can reset your washing
    machine before the rinse cycle begins for extended wash cycle.)
    Rinse in cold water until water runs clear. Wash deep shades in warm
    water with mild detergent and rinse thoroughly in cool water.
    Dry item in dryer or hang to dry.
    Clean washing machine using highest water level with hot water,
    detergent and 1 cup chlorine bleach using complete wash cycle. Clean
    lint traps. Plastic or rubber machine parts may be tinted but will not
    stain laundry.
    You should check your washing machine often to see if your crinoline is tangled and go in there with rubber gloves on (you can use those cheap plastic gloves for washing dishes) and fix the crinoline. Make sure you rinse the crinoline until it comes out clear! You can use the dryer but remember the dryer will shrink it so air drying is your best bet! I used the dryer because I lost weight from the time I bought my crinoline (which was a year and a half prior). Wrinkles? No problem - Steam or hand iron it and use a thin cloth in between so you don't ruin it. I was a little concerned that the washing machine might be stained blue but it wasn't. Right after I was finished I wiped the inside of the machine with a towel, ran the washer once by itself with the towel I used and it was fine.

     
    I have a feeling I'll totally regret putting up a picture with my bra and crinoline on but hey... it's Weddingbee so it's ok right? :) Plus I was so happy wearing just this that one of bridesmaids told me I could even just wear that down the aisle.... But thankfully I had a pretty dress to wear as well! Good luck ladies and dye your crinolines!

    Ps: If any of you want to customize your colour: here is a great site for you.

Comments (2)

  • you look so cute!  oh, and i have the same white shoe cabinet.. from ikea?

  • did your crin seem a little flattened after dying it? like it lost a little of it's poofiness? Mine did, but I'm thinking I can just fluff it up again by laying it out flat.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *