Month: April 2007

  • Bridal Shower Part Deux

    Here we are again talking about my awesome bridal shower . Last I wrote I ended my entry with the toilet paper wedding dress game. After the winners were awarded their prizes the girls cleaned up the TP that was now scattered all over the floor and I opened gifts. Let me tell you - When you open gifts in front of your mom and sister that happen to be: chocolate body paint, edible bra and undies (for her and him)... I turned so red! The best part is when my mom asked "Oh? Paint what?". The theme for the shower was "Honeymoon at home" and I have to say that I got a lot of things for that! I received some really awesome and funny gifts: lover's die (I got two!), massage oils, bath oils/bubbles, flower petals for the bath, chocolates, champagne and glasses, wine, face masks, photo album and of course lingerie!

    After eating some more the girls told me that they were going to quiz me on Mr. Poppy. I have to say - there were a lot of questions but thankfully I got most of them right. They also had everyone put the number they think I'll get right on a piece of paper and whoever guessed the right number won a beautiful lavender robe from Bath and Body Works. One of the most memorable questions was: "If Mr. Poppy were to live in any century which one would it be and what would he do?" Everyone in the room had this expression on their face and I guessed 18th century and a explorer. Turns out, I got it right and everyone was amazed. But once I knew 18th century was correct - what else is there to do?

    Then it was time to end the shower and we all counted our leis to see who won the "lei game". The top three were all my bridesmaid!! My sister ended up winning the prize that my other bridesmaid made... I wish I would have taken a picture of it but it was a jar of bath tea that she had made. The bath tea had: powdered milk, chamomile, lavender, mint, rose petals, oatmeal, rosemary and other herbs and flowers. You're supposed to put it in the filter provided and put it in the bath and enjoy. I received one of those from the same BM that made it for Christmas last year and I love it! Each guest got to take lipglosses, hand lotion as favours to take home:


    favours in the black box

    After everyone left, my BMs took all the ribbons, gift wrap and tissue from my gifts and made my rehearsal bouquet. Brace yourselves:
    Yes - That is a crane that you see. My sister thought it would be cute to have a huge paper crane on top of the bouquet. I don't think you can tell from this picture but that bouquet is HUGE. It is bigger than I am and right now I have it in a vase and it's bigger than that as well. I suppose the bigger the bouquet, the more love from my BMs right?

    left over polaroids taken w/my girls

    All in all it was a really great time. We over estimated on the food but it was worth it since more is better than not enough. Plus we got to eat it on Sunday morning after the b-party... Now speaking of the b-party guess what we did? We went to Duets which is a nice karaoke place near Koreatown. We made reservations and didn't have to wait at all, the service was great and the song selection was awesome! We also ended up getting getting a bottle of some kind of liqour called iichiko and one of my BM mixed it with grape juice. It was good but it really got to me quick - since I don't normally drink anything but red wine . I went to the restroom and ended up in a different room and asked them where my friends where. Oops.

    After karaoke we ended up going to Culture Club. It's a 80s dance club and it was really packed! We got the bachelorette package - which basically means that the bride gets in free and since we went later the girls got $5 off. The music was a lot of remixes and it was a lot of fun but I would like my 80s music not to be remixed. They have a big stage with neon lights and yes we danced and had a lot of fun but there were so many creepy guys there that it kind of ruined it at times. We went next door to the 90s club and maybe it's just me but 90s wasn't my thing. Too much talk, not enough dance. But other than the creepy guys I had a great time there, I know there are a lot of other 80s clubs in NYC so I may try those out before I return to CC.

    I think we were all tired so we ended up getting home around 3 or 4? We passed out at home and then everyone left on Sunday afternoon. I miss my girls already and had such a good time that I can't believe how fast the time passed. What do your ladies have planned for your shower/b-party? Are you helping them plan or are you completely out of the loop? I was partially in the loop but not really. I don't even know if that made sense. All I know is that I had a great time and I have my bridesmaids to thank for that.

  • Bridal Shower Part I

    Before I even start about what fun I had, I must thank my wonderful bridesmaids: Sami, Angela, Meli, In Young and Alyssa. These ladies have thrown me the most amazing shower and b-party a bride could ever receive. It all started when they all flew in Friday and kicked me out of my own living room to plan the last details together as they got to know each other!!!

    The decorations were provided by the local party store: Streamers, balloons, tissue paper, ribbons and candies in glass vases. Everyone that attended the bridal shower complimented on how amazingly beautiful they transformed our living room!

    They had polaroid guestbook and "make your own name tag" on one table. They also had "get leid" game - which is a spin on the old "clothespin" game. So everyone had one lei and if you catch someone crossing their legs then you take their leis. We all took a vote and said that if you catch someone crossing their legs then it's all or nothing. So sometimes people caught others and received up to 6 leis!! The name tags were fun since everyone got to decorate with markers, stamps, stickers and whatever else the girls provided. And with those same materials they had it so you can sign the polaroid itself.

    The shower then started with tons and tons of food and although I have many pictures of it - this post is already getting too long. It was a combination of Japanese, Korean foods and desserts including: individual heart shaped cakes, chocolate molten cakes, truffle brownies, cream puffs and assorted Korean/Japanese snacks. Then after eating and opening half the gifts we played the toilet paper wedding dress game!

    They had 10 minutes with 4 rolls of toilet paper to complete their masterpieces and guess who determined the winners? Yep - ME!!! I ended up picking group one - although group three had a great explanation of why she is covered up so much. They wanted to be a mysterious/arranged marriage bride. But I also heard that her face is actually covered with a veil The winners of the TP dress won aromatherapy body wash. Lucky them .

    I think that will be enough for now but I'll continue with part II another day. It was a great shower and everyone had so much fun. The girls didn't spend an arm and a leg for it and we had more than enough food.  *Sigh* I'm the luckiest girl ever...