Month: February 2007

  • Honeymoon at Home

    I've been talking to my sister, who is also my maid of honour about the bridal shower that's coming up in a little over a month about themes. We were debating since I don't need things for the home like kitchenware or anything else since we had a house warmning a little after we moved in. Then while browsing a couple themes we loved the "Honeymomon at Home".

    Here's a excerpt of someone who had it before: "

    Honeymoon at Home
    We
    are throwing a bridal shower for a couple who has been living together
    for years. What to get them? They both work and won't be able to take a
    honeymoon right away. We are going to ask the guests to bring something
    so that the couple can enjoy a honeymoon at home. Candles, bubble bath,
    wine, scented soaps, chocolates, classical Cd's... anything to keep
    that fire blazing! Then to keep the theme going, the whole bridal party
    is pitching together to get them a hotel room with a whirlpool tub
    built for two. We're going to decorate it and place small gifts in the
    room from each of us."

    This is especially perfect since I don't want to have a registry (even though I know that's the proper thing to do) because I know that some of my guests at the bridal shower don't have much money to spend and I don't want them to feel obligated to buy me something that I chose. This way the more creative ones will make me something (which I LOVE) and others that want to get me something from a store can. I also like this since my fiance and I aren't planning to take a honeymoon right after the wedding. I believe the week after we have a Chinese banquet (for his side) and who knows if I'll end up having a Korean paebaek for my side later. We want to enjoy our honeymoon and since we're getting married in July, going from a hot place to another hot place might not be that enjoyable. So perhaps we'll take it when it gets colder... the fall probably.

    I'm so excited about the shower and the bachelorette party. My mom is actually coming with my sister the week before to help get everything prepared. Then all of my wonderful bridesmaids are coming in on Friday, we'll decorate, bake and such for the shower the next day!

    Now I have a question for yous. Is it weird to have a shower at 3pm on a Saturday afternoon? I want it to be more like a dessert/fingerfood type event (with lots of things to munch but not to eat lunch). Do you think it's weird? And typically how long do showers last for? I was thinking 3pm-5pm... so that way around 6 I'll have dinner with my maids and then go out to par-tay! Let me know ladies, your opinions are so helpful to me!

    PS: What are some great prizes for showers? I have the grand prize one but I know that my sister wants to get a couple smaller prizes for those that win each game. Do you have suggestions that I could pass onto her? Thanks! xoxo